Governor Malloy: Fact Sheet: How to Apply for Storm Sandy Disaster Relief Assistance in Connecticut

{CT Seal}
Governor Dannel P. Malloy
Lt. Governor Nancy Wyman
Updated: January 24, 2013
(HARTFORD, CT) Governor Dannel P. Malloy is encouraging Connecticut residents recovering from the impact of Storm Sandy in the four eligible counties to register for disaster assistance from the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).  Residents have until February 12, 2013 to register.
The major federal disaster declaration, signed by President Obama on October 30, offers federal assistance available to individuals, businesses, non-profits, and municipalities in Fairfield, New Haven, Middlesex and New London counties.  Residents from these counties are eligible to register.
Assistance for losses sustained anytime after the storm, which began on October 27 and ended October 31, may include grants for temporary housing and home repairs, low-cost loans to cover uninsured property losses and other programs to help recover from the effects of the disaster.  Even those with insurance may be eligible for help from FEMA if their insurance policy does not cover all their needs.
This is how the process works:

STEP 1: Register with FEMA
There are several ways to register:
  • Call 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or TTY at 1-800-462-7585.  The toll-free number is open from 7:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m. seven days per week.
When applying for aid, you will receive a nine-digit registration number that can be used for reference when corresponding with FEMA.
It is helpful to have the following information handy:
  • Current telephone number;
  • Address at the time of the disaster and current address;
  • Social Security number, if available;
  • A general list of damages and losses;
  • If insured, the name of insurance company, agent and policy number; and
  • Bank routing number for any direct deposit.

STEP 2: Receive a Property Inspection
Within a few days after registering, eligible applicants will be telephoned to make an appointment to have their damaged property inspected.  The inspectors, who are FEMA contractors and carry identification badges, visit to make a record of damage.  They do not make a determination regarding assistance.  There is no cost for the inspection.

STEP 3: All Applicants Will Receive a Letter from FEMA Regarding the Status of Their Requests for Federal Assistance
Some will also receive an application for a low-interest disaster recovery loan from the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA).
Anyone who has questions about the letter from FEMA should call the helpline (1-800-621-3362 or TTY, 1-800-462-7585).
Those who receive an application packet from the SBA should complete and submit the forms.  No one is required to accept a loan, but submitting the application may open the door to additional FEMA grants.