Governor Malloy: Sandy Hook Advisory Commission

Sandy Hook Advisory Commission
The Sandy Hook Advisory Commission is a 16-member panel of experts created by Governor Malloy to review current policy and make specific recommendations in the areas of public safety, with particular attention paid to school safety, mental health, and gun violence prevention.
  • Scott Jackson (Chair): Mayor, Town of Hamden
  • Dr. Adrienne Bentman: Director, Adult Psychiatry Residency Program, Hartford Hospitalís Institute of Living
  • Ron Chivinski: Teacher, Newtown Middle School
  • Robert Ducibella: Founding Principal, DVS Security Consulting and Engineering
  • Terry Edelstein: Nonprofit Liaison to Governor Malloy
  • Kathleen Flaherty: Staff Attorney, Statewide Legal Services of Connecticut, Inc. / Facilitator and State Trainer, National Alliance for Mental Illness in Connecticut
  • Dr. Alice M. Forrester: Executive Director, Clifford W. Beers Guidance Clinic, Inc.
  • Dr. Ezra Griffith: Professor Emeritus of and Senior Research Scientist in Psychiatry, Deputy Chair for Diversity and Organizational Ethics, Department of Psychiatry, Yale University
  • Patricia Keavney-Maruca: Member, State Board of Education / Former technical high school teacher
  • Christopher Lyddy: Program Manager, Trainer & Consultant, Advanced Trauma Solutions, Inc. / Former State Representative, 106th Assembly District of Newtown / Former Program Director, Youth Equipped for Success!, Forensic Health Services, Inc. / Former Clinical Supervisor, Juvenile Risk Reduction Center, Community Solutions, Inc.
  • Denis McCarthy: Fire Chief, City of Norwalk
  • Barbara OíConnor: Director of Public Safety and Chief of Police, University of Connecticut
  • Wayne Sandford: Professor, University of New Haven, Henry C. Lee College of Criminal Justice & Forensic Sciences / Former Deputy Commissioner, Connecticut Department of Emergency Management & Homeland Security / Former Fire Chief, Town of East Haven
  • Dr. David J. Schonfeld: Pediatrician-in-Chief, St. Christopher's Hospital for Children / Chair, Department of Pediatrics, Drexel University College of Medicine / Director, National Center for School Crisis and Bereavement
  • Dr. Harold I. Schwartz: Psychiatrist-in-Chief, Hartford Hospitalís Institute of Living / Vice President, Behavioral Health, Hartford Hospital / Professor of Psychiatry, University of Connecticut School of Medicine
  • Bernard R. Sullivan: Former Chief of Police, City of Hartford / Former Commissioner, Connecticut Department of Public Safety / Former Chief of Staff to House Speaker Tom Ritter
*Special thanks to Brandon Smith, Reporting & Video Service LLC of Hartford, CT for volunteering to provide transcripts, in addition to the Connecticut Court Reporters Association.
Press Releases